Man Ray

man_ray_--_desroches_didier_ie_paul_eluard_(1895-1952_le_temps_deborde_d5433868hMan Ray once said if you don’t like something, then turn away from it. Just shut up and go to the next thing. I’m paraphrasing. Maybe it wasn’t even Man Ray.

The last week of term. Impossible for me to critique one more thing. I read my workshop stories and don’t have one single useful comment. I just want to read the stories, that’s all. I don’t want to ask myself how they might be better.

I don’t know if I can be a teacher if being a teacher means looking for what’s wrong. I hate putting grades on things. I hate looking at everything with a critical eye. How is that useful?

 

2 thoughts on “Man Ray

  1. I think it is also helpful to the writer to know what is working so we don’t delete the good stuff. Tell your students what is good about their stories. Sounds like you find them interesting.

    • They are interesting. I’m astonished by their writing. I focus almost completely on what they’re doing right- I do believe that the best thing any of us can do is to recognize and then nourish our strengths– but then I wonder if I’m not rigorous enough.

Leave a Reply

