just for saying: Plum

The plums are ripe and summer is over. I am back at work. Chuck has made a studio for me, a room in the back yard near the garden, so I have a place to write. I would rather write about my life than live it. That is a terrible thing to admit.

Oh, today is Tuesday already. What happened to Sunday, poetry day on my blog? I am trying to be organized, to give you something you can count on. Here is one of my favorite lines in poetry. It is by Rilke.

 from Rilke’s Ellegy #9

Are we, perhaps, here just for saying: House,

Bridge, Fountain, Gate, Jug, Fruit tree, Window, –

possibly: Pillar, Tower?… but for saying, remember,

oh, for such saying as never the things themselves

hoped so intensely to be

Leave a Reply

