the plot

I knew someone who couldn’t finish writing his book because he had fallen in love with his protagonist. Sometimes I fall in love with my made- up guys even though they hardly say anything and in real life I like men who can talk.

I finally figured out the plot for my book, The 5 ½ Senses of Frieda LaValle. Yes, it has a plot. It apparently has a plot which must first be carefully constructed. I have tried writing it the other way, the way that involves faith and avoids the hard thing: figuring it out ahead of time. Some people say that figuring it out ahead of time is too restrictive, but how can that be? Writing involves so many choices. Every dang thing is a choice. And anyway even if you do plan it, within that plan you make a thousand changes.

Now I have my plot and I just need to write the story. I had hoped to complete it before the end of winter break, but that is the day after tomorrow so it is unlikely.

Leave a Reply

